rangerovers.pub
The only place for a coil spring is up Zebedee's arse.
Member
Joined: Feb 24 2017
Posts: 205

It was good to put faces to names.
Thanks again for the efforts made to make this site a proper discussion board....
Anytime suits me for next round.

Member
avatar
Joined: Jan 05 2016
Posts: 1058

As above!

My laptop decided it had enough for the night when I dropped off - so off to bed it was!

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2016
Posts: 346

I could see everyone as individual squares with all your names but I wasn't receiving any video and audio. I could see 9 of you, 10 at one stage.
I tested my webcam: first locally using windows and then a couple of online sites. I am using the latest edition of Firefox.
Fast 64 bit quad core Windows 10 machine, 16GB ram, decent Nvidia graphics card. Good webcam. Used the rrpubjune login.
I gave permission to Firefox to use my camera and microphone. Tried logging off then logging back in. Poured myself a whisky.
Set up studio lights and wrote all your names on separate cards. Poured myself another whisky.
Tried the comments section at the side. Saw a few of your messages. Sent a comment to Richard. No reply.
Poured another whisky. Tried the previous login. Then went back to rrpubjune. Tried experimenting with several passwords.
Closed Firefox, Tried Internet Explorer. Computer locked up. Rebooted. Poured another whisky.
Went back to Firefox. Could see you all but no video & audio. Looked at the settings in jitsu. Nothing much to alter.
Firefox said in the top bar it was connected and using an encrypted connection.
Went to bed.

Member
avatar
Joined: Jan 05 2016
Posts: 1058

Hmm - I was using Chrome and it worked okay, though I think the wifi in my shed kept dropping as it would freeze now and then (but this is an issue unrelated to jitsu)

What is your internet connection like?

If the session is still working I don't mind trying it again this evening if you want.

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2016
Posts: 346

Hi Sloth,
I typically get 65 to 70 Mbps download and 18 to 19 Mbps upload, so very good.
I have got Chrome already loaded on my machine, so I can try it.
Can we leave the session running and just point the camera at an object on the desk?
I would like to get the hardware sorted out first, before we have a natter.
I also need to read up on system requirements for jitsu.
I must add that I previously logged onto online sites using Firefox to test out my webcam and it worked perfectly.
Could there be a problem with different video and audio formats used by jitsu?
Maybe Firefox settings need to be altered?

Member
Joined: Aug 05 2019
Posts: 60

I was using the app on the IPad and it was fine.

Member
Joined: Aug 05 2019
Posts: 60

I was using the app on the IPad and it was fine.

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2016
Posts: 346

Don't have an ipad, sorry. Only an android phone. I use for Whatsapp all the time.
I also have Whatsapp on my pc and that works very well. I have been in constant contact with my family during lockdown.
It is a separate app though. It doesn't use a browser.

Member
Joined: Dec 29 2016
Posts: 320

If people were having issues, I guess there's no reason not to try Webex or Zoom next time...

Member
avatar
Joined: Jan 05 2016
Posts: 1058

There is a Jitsi android app too.

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 4560

I saw your message and replied to it but not immediately so you had probably given up and gone to bed before it arrived. Almost identical system here, Lenovo Thinkpad W530 laptop, quad core i7 processor, 16Gb RAM, Windows 10, the latest release of Firefox and using the integrated webcam and mic, so I can't see why it worked perfectly for me but not for you.

I just tried logging into the link and as there is no host (Gordon) it isn't currently active. However, I got two small boxes appear at the top. One in green saying Firefox is using the webcam with a drop down arrow on the right with the options of, Hide Notification, Block Application Access to Webcam, Webcam Protection Settings and PID: 2516 Application Rules. I also get a smaller Orange box with teh Firefox logo and a picture of a camera and a mic. If I click on that it opens up a the Site Information. In that it shows Connection Secure and beneath that, Permissions with Use Camera and Use Microphone both shown as Allowed. Maybe you've got something odd set in there so it isn't allowing you to use them?

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2016
Posts: 346

I remember having a camera icon in the box at the top but I think it was red. I wonder if that was the problem?
I have just checked Firefox. I was on v76 and I have just upgraded to 77.0.1.
I have gone with defaults an enabled picture in picture video controls. Does jujitsu use Flash?
Can Gordon or you Richard leave a permanent session running and just point the camera at something on the desk?
It would give us chance to experiment before talk time.

Member
Joined: Feb 24 2017
Posts: 205

Try don’t the Range Rover go to solution for most problems.... give it a belt with a lump hammer and curse at it...... then have a cup of tea.....
Works a lot for me.

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 4560

Firefox V76.01 64 bit here, I suspect the red camera icon has something to do with it, it's probably enabled, or Firefox isn't authorised to use it.

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2016
Posts: 346

+1 on the cup of tea. Works wonders.
Come away from the job, think about it whilst having said cup of tea, then go back with full compliment of brain cells working.
Late at night a glass of Glenfiddich is an alternative.

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2016
Posts: 346

Richard,
I think you have narrowed the problem down. Although, a box did open up and I had to give permissions for Firefox to use the camera and mic.

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 708

dave3d wrote:

Richard,
I think you have narrowed the problem down. Although, a box did open up and I had to give permissions for Firefox to use the camera and mic.

I'd guess/assume your using Windows 10, If so then open up settings privacy, and check the camera section there hasn't got something set to block it (there are various settings there, but should be reasonably obvious what they do and will vary depending on what you've been using).

I would guess Firefox would be under the desktop apps section of that page?

Member
Joined: Aug 07 2019
Posts: 138

ive only got a windows 7 and it all worked on the screen except my camera , but i think its the camera. will look for another one and you will see me at the next one .

Member
Joined: Apr 23 2019
Posts: 504

Dave3d - when you were testing the webcam in windows, are you positive you then closed it before trying jitsu. Else jitsu can't get control of the camera, even if it has the right permission. (Happened to me with MS Teams the other day)

Member
Joined: Aug 05 2019
Posts: 60

I can organise a Zoom meeting for next week if people want me to. Happy either way.