rangerovers.pub
The only place for a coil spring is up Zebedee's
Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 5221

Or we could meet up at Springfields? About half way for each of us.

Member
Joined: Feb 11 2018
Posts: 408

I've ordered a (cough cough) diagnostic yesterday. Should be here wednesday. I'll see how that goes first.
Thank you gentlemen :)

Member
Joined: Feb 11 2018
Posts: 408

Well no power at the socket as its corroded in the obd socket.
Got a new socket arriving friday so i guees i know what im doing saturday :(

Member
Joined: Sep 14 2020
Posts: 2

I have a Nano you can use if needed.
I am just up the M5 from Weston. J26 Wellington :-)

Member
Joined: Apr 23 2019
Posts: 582

Welcome Jim - you snuck in the back door?

Member
Joined: Sep 14 2020
Posts: 2

Cheers Rob. It’s all that Ninja training!

Member
Joined: Feb 11 2018
Posts: 408

Very kind of you all. Thank you

Member
Joined: Feb 11 2018
Posts: 408

Well that was a crap day.
No power at the obd port so had fun trying to trace the problem. There's no power between the engine bay fuse box and connector in the right hand footwell. Bollocks:(

Done a modification that draws permanent live from the radio constant live and Fed that to the DLC.

All working now and got a forced calibration initiated.

Didn't help. The blend flap is sticking by the looks of it and logging errors in the ecu. Bugger.

I think k I need to delve in there again. Boohoo:(

Member
Joined: Feb 11 2018
Posts: 408

enter image description here

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 5221

That'll make it easier to plug into, no grovelling in the passenger footwell.

Member
Joined: Feb 07 2020
Posts: 59

tanis8472 wrote:

Well that was a crap day.
No power at the obd port so had fun trying to trace the problem. There's no power between the engine bay fuse box and connector in the right hand footwell. Bollocks:(

Done a modification that draws permanent live from the radio constant live and Fed that to the DLC.

All working now and got a forced calibration initiated.

Didn't help. The blend flap is sticking by the looks of it and logging errors in the ecu. Bugger.

I think k I need to delve in there again. Boohoo:(

I had same problem, it was a broken wire in driver's kick panel multi plug (brown IIRC). Previous owner had done same as you, drawing a live off radio. but they'd just twisted a wire on and not even taped it up!!!

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 5221

If you've unscrewed the blend motor and checked the movement on the actual flaps and it appears that they are moving over the full range, it could be the feedback pot in the blend motor has a dead spot at one end. If you use your (un-named) diagnostic to look at the signal being returned from the motor while causing it to move from one end of the travel to the other, you may well find that is moves smoothly up to a point then stops. You may be able to sort it by pulling the blend motor apart and filling the pot with switch cleaner.

Member
Joined: Feb 11 2018
Posts: 408

Gilbertd wrote:

That'll make it easier to plug into, no grovelling in the passenger footwell.

Indeed and can be left in panel when not in use.

Member
Joined: Feb 11 2018
Posts: 408

j_rov wrote:

tanis8472 wrote:

Well that was a crap day.
No power at the obd port so had fun trying to trace the problem. There's no power between the engine bay fuse box and connector in the right hand footwell. Bollocks:(

Done a modification that draws permanent live from the radio constant live and Fed that to the DLC.

All working now and got a forced calibration initiated.

Didn't help. The blend flap is sticking by the looks of it and logging errors in the ecu. Bugger.

I think k I need to delve in there again. Boohoo:(

I had same problem, it was a broken wire in driver's kick panel multi plug (brown IIRC). Previous owner had done same as you, drawing a live off radio. but they'd just twisted a wire on and not even taped it up!!!

Yes, it is the brown wire, although mine is before the connector.

Mine is soldered and heat shrink fitted. Proper job.

Member
Joined: Feb 11 2018
Posts: 408

Gilbertd wrote:

If you've unscrewed the blend motor and checked the movement on the actual flaps and it appears that they are moving over the full range, it could be the feedback pot in the blend motor has a dead spot at one end. If you use your (un-named) diagnostic to look at the signal being returned from the motor while causing it to move from one end of the travel to the other, you may well find that is moves smoothly up to a point then stops. You may be able to sort it by pulling the blend motor apart and filling the pot with switch cleaner.

Need to remove the rear vent pipe first. As I don't fancy breaking anything again :(
Will probably strip again next weekend and watch what's happening etc.

Thanks gentleman

Member
Joined: Feb 11 2018
Posts: 408

Well nothing happening today.
Bleeding weather.

Member
Joined: Feb 11 2018
Posts: 408

Did change these on Thursday though
Yuk

enter image description here

Only about 8 months old

Member
Joined: Feb 25 2020
Posts: 257

Bleah ... I am however impressed about the very fine filtering of the RRP38, regardless of the filter brand.

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 5221

They look near new compared to some I've changed....

Member
Joined: Feb 11 2018
Posts: 408

Lol, that's what I thought about the ones in it when I bought the car.