rangerovers.pub
The only place for a coil spring is up Zebedee's arse.
Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 4730

In the process of refurbishing a 2001 4.6 Vogue (OldShep's old car which two of us have rescued and are returning to it's original glory). When I picked it up as soon as I touched the brake pedal I got ABS Fault and Traction Failure pop up on the dash although the Nano showed no stored faults. It had recently had a new rear calliper fitted and it hadn't been bled properly so that has now been done (along with a matching new rear calliper on the other side) but when I checked with the Nano it shows all four wheels doing 1.7 kph while standing still??? As my mate was doing the drivers seat and steering wheel, wasn't able to drive it slowly to see if the problem was still there but why would it think it was moving when it isn't? It's the Wabco D system with 4 wheel traction control if that makes any difference.

Member
Joined: Aug 05 2019
Posts: 88

My Nano shows all wheels turning at 1 kph (or is it in MPH?) when standing still. It goes into error mode (er2 comes up on a black screen) if you exceed 4 xxx. In addition, the only way I can get it to talk to the Wabco ECU is to go through the EDC program, despite mine being a GEMS. If I go through the GEMS program I just get the “cant communicate with ECU” error every time. Perhaps try going into it from one of the system types that the vehicle is not, if you follow me :)

I have found since the last firmware update the unit is less stable, crashing from time to time and freezing on some screens so you have to hold your finger on the screen to shut it down and reboot it to get it to work properly.

None of the above is answering your question of course ........

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 734

I have some feeling I found the same on the Disco with the Nanocom of it showing a low speed when sat stationary. Will have a look tomorrow at it. I think its known about the ECU dropping the comms if you start moving, suspect it might even be mentioned in RAVE that it will drop connection with testbook so its not a fault just the way the ecu is.

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 4730

I know it drops comms if you go over something like 2.5 kph but the last time I used it 0.0 kph was shown until the car started moving very slowly. That time I could see immediately that one wheel sensor was sluggish and didn't start to give a reading as quickly as the other 3. A tap with a hammer sorted that. I just couldn't understand why it seemed to be getting a reading from all 4 wheels when it was standing still.....

Member
Joined: Jan 15 2016
Posts: 431

Marshall8hp wrote:

I have found since the last firmware update the unit is less stable, crashing from time to time and freezing on some screens so you have to hold your finger on the screen to shut it down and reboot it to get it to work properly.

None of the above is answering your question of course ........

Check my post in the "Nanocom inconsistencies" thread regarding firmware updates.

Member
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 1190

It seems to be something it does on the later Wabco D ECU. I don't know if other diagnostics report it the same way as Nanocom does (IE it's something the wabco ECU is spitting out, or whether it's how the Nanocom interprets the data).

The 'D' ECU will stop responding to diagnostics once you get to 5mph, or it switches the ABS light off on the dash. Somewhat annoying when you're trying to diagnose a problem. Along with the fact that some of the sensor labels in the inputs window are wrong.

If you get ABS Fault and the likes come up but no faults showing, try pressing the right arrow on the bottom of the faults box - sometimes when you do that it goes to the 'next' fault and will show the historical ones in there.

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 734

The Disco 2 also shows 1.7 KPH on all sensors when sat with engine not running in Park. My Nano is using firmware from 2018 at the minute, as I've not got round to updating it. Need to do that as the last time I tried it on my mates p38 HEVAC it didn't seem to want to play ball, came up with numerous errors and scrolling between errors caused the screen to lockup and reload around 10 times on each error.

Member
Joined: Aug 05 2019
Posts: 88

George, you mention removing the little jumper. What do you mean by that? Are you pulling the unit apart and deleting something off the circuit board?

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 734

Theres a jumper inside one end of the nano thats detailed in some of the troubleshooting steps for the nano. You don't need to pull it to pieces, you just remove an end of it to access the jumper.

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 734

It forces it into kernel mode - more info here about it
https://www.nanocom-diagnostics.com/downloads/preview/firmware-upgrade-guide

Member
Joined: Jan 15 2016
Posts: 431

Marshall8hp wrote:

George, you mention removing the little jumper. What do you mean by that? Are you pulling the unit apart and deleting something off the circuit board?

Updated the other post with a picture.