rangerovers.pub
The only place for a coil spring is up Zebedee's arse.
Member
Joined: Jul 15 2017
Posts: 2

Well where do I start? my radio a clarion diversity/with eon/rds. was working fine about a year ago, but when I was driving along and switched on the radio nothing would happen for a split sec then a sort of loud bop or bump noise would come from the speakers and it would work ok, then because I was experiencing my battery keep going flat over night, that problem turned out to be the small receiver for the locking
device located in the offside rear trim panel needing updating to a 2nd gen one that solved that problem but back to the radio I'm still without the radio, As we are lucky enough to have my wife's smaller car we use we tend to leave the ranger under the car port out of the weather all week
and I only use it on a Friday so my wife can go get shopping, while I trundle off to the gym, I think that an obvious thing with the radio is lost
code, and I'm waiting for the local dealer to get back to me in the hope he will give it to me? I have looked in the hand book and seen that one has to press certain pre-set buttons to get the display to show the word code in but don't get that at all but I have found that when I press the on button sometimes the thing don't light up but by twiddling the button it lights, probably a dirty connection due to lack of use,

Member
Joined: Apr 23 2019
Posts: 275

Bin the HU, put the right harness in, and an after-market stereo, and never look back...

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 3848

Contact Clarion at http://www.clarion-service.co.uk/cs/Repair.html, they will refurbish the unit and remove the need for the code. While they are at it they will add a line in cable too. As long as the display is OK (as they no longer have stocks of replacement display modules) the turn around is very quick and cheap. The original Clarion gives very good sound quality and with the line in you can either use it to plug in an external source (or phone) or use it to plug in a Bluetooth module so you can connect anything. Unlike the later Alpine and DSP amp, the Clarion is repairable.

Member
Joined: Dec 29 2015
Posts: 713

If it's an early Clarion stereo and it's intermittent but comes on when you tap the bottom of the case, it's a dry joint on a big surface-mount resistor under the heatsink beside the tape deck. Easy to fix and a common fault.

Member
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 1656

Damn, what stereo was in the 2001 Vogue/DSP setup? I'd love a line in!

Member
Joined: Sep 14 2016
Posts: 413

Morat

Alpine in the 2001 I think. Used to be an outfit that could fit one for you for a significant price but they seem to have disappeared. I did find a DIY half guide on how to do it, basically pictures of where the wire goes, but never took it further. Nowadays I reckon that the only futzing around with auto et al is getting one of the Android tablet screens.

As I understand it the issues are finding the right place to tap into the audio system and fooling the system into accepting the line in as a valid source. I think the DIY method basically disabled the cassette system and fools the electronics into using the line in instead. Probably just a dummy cassette and disconnected motor power.

Clive

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 3848

Your only option with the Alpine and DSP system is the Grom BT3 unit. According to their website (https://gromaudio.co.uk/products/bluetooth-hands-free-and-a2dp-car-kits/bmw-mini-rover-bluetooth-integration-kit-678.html#Description) it doesn't work with cars fitted with the sat nav although Mark (Orangebean) successfully fitted one to his Vogue SE. At the time we couldn't work out what difference the sat nav would make and suspect that as it is an add on unit it may not work with all cars fitted with sat nav. Not cheap but if you want to retain the original head unit but add Bluetooth and a Line In, it's a good option. You do lose the CD changer though.

Member
Joined: Jan 07 2016
Posts: 102

I use the simpler grom unit without blue tooth and just put my music on a USB stick, or plug my phone into the grom line in.
You can also use a multi pole toggle switch, relay or rotary switch to select between the grom and the CD player. I have Dsp and sat nav, and it all works just fine. Sound is amazing.

Member
Joined: Sep 14 2016
Posts: 413

Morat

Mention of the Grom reminded me that, back in 2012, I wanted to link up my iPod (the original hard disk one) to the radio and bought a box made by a firm called Connects2 to give an axillary input. Which I discovered I still had hiding at the back of the bench. Unfortunately the supplier didn't include proper instructions or all the leads. By the time I'd tracked down Connects2, sorted out what was missing and got the extra adapter lead enthusiasm had waned so it sat on the bench steadily being buried by all the other not got time for ideas.

You are welcome to it. PM me your address and I'll drop it in jiffy bag to post up if you fancy giving it a try. I still don't know if it works tho'. Constructional quality didn't exactly inspire me and there is fair bit of wire to find homes for. The enclosed instructions seriously lower the bar for Ikea style but sub Ikea quality. Difficult when, basically, you have only 4 connectors to plug in but they managed. I have some E-Mail correspondence with the Connects2 support folk dated September 2012 which may make things clearer when the radio is out. I never did find out how you actually selected the axillary input. I suspect it replaces the CD player.

Connects2 are still around and list the P38 as an application for the CTTLR001 "Land Rover ISO T-Harness for Amplified Vehicles. Handsfree mute interface for amplified vehicles. Allows phone call/music audio to be output through 4 speakers"

see https://connects2.com/Product/ProductItem/CTTLR001 for website details.

Looks like a metric boatload of wires and its not clear exactly what it does beyond linking a hands free phone kit to the main audio system.

Clive

Member
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 1656

That's very generous, thank you! I'll have a poke around and see if I can work out what is meant to go between that kit and the phone. I don't suppose it has anything as simple as a 3.5mm socket on there does it? :)

Member
Joined: Sep 14 2016
Posts: 413

Morat

The kit I have is much simpler than the one in the link. There are two RCA sockets on the little box containing the gubbins. There is a 3 mm stereo jack plug to twin RCA plug converter lead in the box.

Clive

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 3848

That Connects2 unit looks a bit odd to me, but it looks like it uses ISO back to back plugs to go in between the car loom and the head unit. Not sure how well it will work with the DSP system as that doesn't use all the speaker outputs so it will be trying to intercept something that isn't there. That's the same arrangement as something like a Parrot hands free kit uses but it only disconnects the signal from the head unit and injects audio from the hands free kit directly into the speaker feeds. Give it a go though and see how you get on.

The cheaper Grom that Bolt mentioned is probably this one https://gromaudio.co.uk/products/grom-aux3-aux-input-iphone-ipod-mp3-car-kit-plus-charging/rover-auxiliary-adapter-kit.html. Fairly simple, it just gives you a line in input instead of the CD changer that you can use with your phone, an mp3 player or whatever.

Member
Joined: Apr 23 2019
Posts: 275

Unless you insist on putting sticking plasters on a 20yo HU, then the right Incartec harness plus 21st century after-market HU is the way to go Imho. Via Bluetooth you can make phone calls, play the music on your phone, and get satnav directions, all fully integrated, and DAB

Member
Joined: Mar 22 2016
Posts: 1153

Following this re putting the jack socket in, somewhere I printed off how and where to wire it to, I believe it was the tape deck wiring, ( I don’t even own a cassette these days) I thought it was for the later alpine unit, time to go digging, especially as I bought the jack socket about a year ago, lol

Member
Joined: Jul 15 2017
Posts: 2

thanks to all who have left suggestions and helpful tips, Im still waiting to get the code from range rover when I ring them in a minute . reg

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 3848

They won't usually give it over the phone, you have to go into a main dealer with your V5 and prrof of ID to show it is your car. They'll then give you a printout with the radio code, the EKA the lockset bar code, etc.