rangerovers.pub
The only place for a coil spring is up Zebedee's arse.
Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 711

Hi All

Can someone advise of the required button presses to input the code on the attached radio (battery was removed for welding, and since the display doesn't work the owner can't tell if hes inputting it correctly or not). We think this is the Clarion unit rather than the Alpine one, but would be helpful to confirm that too?

I think its a case of press button 1 the required number of times to input the first digit, then 2 for the second digit etc, but not sure what you should be pressing after that.

Clarion?

I have suggested that he considers sending it to Clarion for repair and code removal, though I know Richard did say they were running out of replacement screens with the last one he sent away so it may not even be an option now. Also how can you tell which audio system is fitted (or to ask the question in a different way, is fitting a different stereo likely to be less than straightforward on a 1997 DSE due to amplifers etc, vehicle doesn't have any sub or similar kit but not sure if it has the door amps or how to tell?)

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 4585

I think you are right in how the code is entered and once you put the last number in, it should just burst into life. SE spec with no sub and, presumably no steering wheel controls, will be the low (no mid range speaker in the front doors) or mid line system (with mid range speakers in the doors) so no amps in the doors. If that is the case, then the plugs on the loom to go into the radio are standard 2 x 8 way ISO connectors and you can just plug any aftermarket head unit in. The '97 4.0SE I had was also fitted with the mid line system and a Sony head unit was a direct replacement.

Mine originally had the low line system (as plod didn't ask for a radio at all but it still came with speakers) but I swapped the door panels for ones with mid range speakers to turn it into a mid line.

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 711

Cheers, will give that a try and see. No idea if hes got steering wheel controls, will have a look at the weekend when I see it again. Sounds like swapping it is about as simple as it could get in that setup too.

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 4585

Yeah, it's only the posh ones that get complicated...... It's only the High line that comes with door amps and I think that comes with the CD changer in the boot too.

Member
Joined: Aug 19 2019
Posts: 166

On my '97 you only push each button once. Eg, if your code is 1234, press the 1 then the 2 then the 3 then the 4. Then the radio becomes live.

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 711

Great stuff, will give it a go on Saturday. Other question is around removing the stereo to swap it - Rave seems to show a pair of flat hooked removal tools, inserted somewhere near the top of the radio. Couldn't see anywhere on there to actually do that, is that the correct thing to use on these or is there part to remove first?

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 4585

The front fascia pulls off, then you can use either the proper Clarion tools or a pair of feeler gauges.