rangerovers.pub
The only place for a coil spring is up Zebedee's
Member
Joined: Aug 07 2019
Posts: 221

first question is will it fit . can you take a hp22 from a p38 and fit it to a TD5 disco , its the torque converter thats the problem. the disco trans has 3 bolts holding the torque converter and a different flex plate , the p38 one has 4 bolts and a larger torque converter . considering that the torque converter in the disco has shit its self with the pump , (apparently its a common problem) can the bigger converter be fitted , if so what is required to do this or do you need to use the original converter with a different flex plate set up. any info would be appreciated

Member
Joined: Dec 03 2019
Posts: 47

Another problem could be the tail end ,... I have never examined them close up but they fit to two very different transfer boxes so the output housing/tailshaft could well be different.
Also would the larger TC fit in your bellhousing? Dave Ashcroft will have the answers but there must be someone out there who has the bits to compare? Is the D2 ecu controlled like the P38?

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 5232

+1 on giving Dave Ashcroft a call, he will know the differences and which bits you would need to swap over as it's the same box, https://www.ashcroft-transmissions.co.uk/automatic-gearboxes/zf4hp22eh.html

Member
avatar
Joined: Jan 05 2016
Posts: 1097

If it's from a diesel P38, it'll have a 3 bolt flex plate too. No idea about the bell housing or tail end lengths though, probably need to do some mix and matching.

Member
Joined: Aug 07 2019
Posts: 221

i have looked at Ashcrofts and apparently i need a new flex plate and another boss to bolt to crank to take the new flex plate . its also recommending it be remapped to get full advantage of the bigger torque converter . the hp22 gearbox is already fitted to these models its just the torque converter thats different apparently
was hoping someone else had already done this and could offer some advise .
yes its a TD5 so its a diesel , the smaller torque converter in the diesels is a problem apparently , the original has done the torque converter and destroyed the box as well which is the reason for the upgraded torque converter .

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 5232

Phone them and speak to Dave, he'll tell you exactly what bits you need to change.

Member
Joined: Aug 07 2019
Posts: 221

we do have a company in Australia that is a distributor for ashcrofts . i will ring them .
i was hoping someone had done this and they could offer some advice . i think all i need is a new flex plate and a boss to bolt on to the crank and a hole saw to get access to the bolts that hold it together . i will sort this and reply hopefully with some details.

Member
Joined: Aug 05 2019
Posts: 162

Who is the Ashcroft agent here?

Member
Joined: Aug 07 2019
Posts: 221

according to AULRO .com Ritters in Melbourne do the conversion , was going to start there