rangerovers.pub
The only place for a coil spring is up Zebedee's arse.
Member
Joined: Nov 16 2016
Posts: 890

The question is in the topic title...

My old Tomtom is no longer supported by Tomtom, map is out of date and would like one with a bigger screen. I recently fitted a double din head unit (this isn't a P38) did consider an Android type (which could have had satnav built in) but went for a basic (none Android) touch screen type. Might as well also ask if point of interest files can be used with Android satnavs, or better still, be set up to keep updated with real time LPG station price info from Filllpg?

Posted in Opening Time as not really an electrickery subject.

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 3769

There's an Android app that updates in real time or there's POI files for Garmin and Tomtom which need to be downloaded and loaded into the sat nav unit if you want the most up to date version. What have you actually fitted?

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 557

You can also load the POI file into Google maps - its under your places > Maps. The CSV file I think from memory just works as it is, or if it didn't it was fairly easy to fix it (just edit using excel but save as CSV afterwards). You can also obviously edit the csv file if needed, say if the website became unavailable etc. If the Android satnav uses google maps then I'd think it should work? I don't generally use it that way as I usually use Waze for GPS rather than Google maps, but its in there if I wanted to use it.

Or just use Dave's app - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.onthefencedevelopment.fill_lpg and then you have the prices either way. It should pass across to any sort of navigation app - Back when i used the Garmin instead of Waze you could pass it directly to that unit via the smartlink app using bluetooth, but it got to a point where Waze just worked better, and meant only having the one unit to put into the holder when getting back in the car.

Member
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 1603

fill lpg has a handy Navigate To button which sends the destination into google maps. I'm a Google Maps addict (partly because of the mobile speed camera notifications) so it would be nice to be able to search for LPG along an existing route but with a bit of to and fro between the two apps you can search along your route for the garage name once you've got it from Fill LPG.

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 3769

The European version of the app from https://www.mylpg.eu/lpg-prices-across-europe now includes UK (so not sure if Dave has been sharing info or if they've nicked it) but that will allow you to put a route in and show stations on the route. Covers all of Europe (if you need it). There's an Android app on the Playstore (look for EU LPG) as well as Garmin and Tomtom POI files.

Member
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 1603

I'll give it a whirl thanks! :)

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 557

Gilbertd wrote:

The European version of the app from https://www.mylpg.eu/lpg-prices-across-europe now includes UK (so not sure if Dave has been sharing info or if they've nicked it) but that will allow you to put a route in and show stations on the route. Covers all of Europe (if you need it). There's an Android app on the Playstore (look for EU LPG) as well as Garmin and Tomtom POI files.

Their info is a combination of info from all over the place - Hence why when you look at it, its full of duplicates, inaccurate locations, stations that don't exist, stations that never existed in the first place and out of date info. Its possible to get duplicates and closed stations removed from it by contacting the admin on every instance. I suspect the European info is somewhat better than what the UK info on there is.

Some of it appeared to me to have been found from the nearly defunct printed map book - http://www.go-autogas.com/ if you don't know the one I mean, and that was the original reason for Richard starting Filllpg - as the info on their supposedly superior POI files that you got with the map was so poor, with stations shown not merely in the wrong place, but frequently not even in the right county or even in the middle of the sea. Though its equally possible the info went from myLPG.eu to them rather than the other way round.

TBH though, with the amount of stations that seem to be disappearing (Shell seem to be culling a load of theirs now) you'd be better with an app that downloads updates regularly unless you want to update the satnav regularly as well.

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 3769

I use the Euro one when in Europe but filllpg over here. My tablet tells me whenever it updates anything and just recently filllpg has been updated with prices every couple of days, there's been a couple of stations added too but only seen it delete one.

Member
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 1603

Most of the adds on FillLPG are European stations from what I've seen.

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 557

Morat wrote:

Most of the adds on FillLPG are European stations from what I've seen.

Yes almost all of them have been for ages now, and most of the deleted ones are UK ones as well. Theres the occasional added uk station, but pretty much all of them have either been duplicates, pointers that have been moved from an incorrect location, or ones that shouldn't be added (people playing with the app adding random extra stations)

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 557

Morat wrote:

Most of the adds on FillLPG are European stations from what I've seen.

Yes almost all of them have been for ages now, and most of the deleted ones are UK ones as well. Theres the occasional added uk station, but pretty much all of them have either been duplicates, pointers that have been moved from an incorrect location, or ones that shouldn't be added (people playing with the app adding random extra stations)
Gilbertd wrote:

I use the Euro one when in Europe but filllpg over here. My tablet tells me whenever it updates anything and just recently filllpg has been updated with prices every couple of days, there's been a couple of stations added too but only seen it delete one.

Theres been 52 deleted stations in the logs on my phone in the last 90 days. Majority of those are UK stations. Approx 1/2 of them are ones where a new pointer has been created or deletions of duplicate pointers though. Bear in mind the notification only shows the last update attempt, not every one since you last cleared the notification off the screen (so if its done 2 or 3 updates in that time, you've missed the earlier ones on that total)

Member
Joined: Nov 16 2016
Posts: 890

Bit slow in replying on the thread I started - Thanks for replies/info.

The unit I fitted is a Pioneer MVH A210BT, it's a cheep and basic double-din touchscreen radio, no chance of it doing satnav but that aside it does all I want - analogue radio, bluetooth phone connection and could be connected to a reversing cam (but isn't). Fitted in haste before my holiday and without much research, I didn't want anything that took time to boot up (some Androids do apparently?), one of the things that sold it to me was it's physical mute button!

Most of these cars (Elgrands) have the factory option of hinged touchscreen on the dash fitted, when fitted the screen does all the heater controls, radio controls, satnav, reversing cam, even reports OBD problems... but in Japanese, cannot be changed to English and the satnav cannot be made to work anywhere except Japan! I prefer the dash heater controls with constant LED readout so no great loss besides the reversing cam. Ideally I'd like to keep the radio I have and fit a hinged screen from a scrapyard, connect it to a reversing cam and somehow get satnav working on it. Or I might just buy another Tomtom.

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 3769

I've got a Garmin sat nav that comes with free lifetime map and speed camera updates and also has the capability of connecting a wireless reversing camera. You have to use the genuine Garmin camera kit which costs as much again as the sat nav but works perfectly. If powered from the reversing light feed, as soon as you select reverse the display shows what the camera can see.

Member
Joined: Nov 16 2016
Posts: 890

Thanks.

Are any satnavs capable of using a remote screen (specifically the hinged one on the dash which is NTSC)? Compatible with none proprietary reversing cams?

Wondering if an Android unit could be fitted in place of the hinged screen.

Lots to look into because my reversing cam (which never worked) is different to standard (for the hinged screen setup), dunno if it's a Panasonic proprietary unit (for the old Panasonic 2 x single din setup that was fitted when I bought the car), the reversing cam might be broke anyway. Could easily buy a standard Elgrand reversing cam from a scrapyard which would work with the standard hinged screen but would it work with an Android unit?

Member
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 1603

There is another option on Amazon

https://tinyurl.com/y458nbyh

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 3769

Don't see why not, video is video in most cases (1V p to p). Only variation is NTSC or PAL but most displays will handle both.

Member
Joined: Nov 16 2016
Posts: 890

Morat wrote:

There is another option on Amazon

https://tinyurl.com/y458nbyh

Lol no thanks! Some on the Elgrand forum reckon the female Jap voice (that too often comes over speakers especially when starting the engine or selecting reverse gear) sounds like she's giving them a bollocking. At least without the factory hinged screen option I don't have to suffer written or verbal bollockings.

At some point I'll probably pick up a standard reversing cam then. So can't the Garmin use a standard type cam?

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 3769

No, because it is a wireless unit and you need to buy the camera to get the transmitter and receiver that goes with the sat nav.

Member
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 1603

Lpgc wrote:

Morat wrote:

There is another option on Amazon

https://tinyurl.com/y458nbyh

Lol no thanks! Some on the Elgrand forum reckon the female Jap voice (that too often comes over speakers especially when starting the engine or selecting reverse gear) sounds like she's giving them a bollocking. At least without the factory hinged screen option I don't have to suffer written or verbal bollockings.

At some point I'll probably pick up a standard reversing cam then. So can't the Garmin use a standard type cam?

tehhee :) :)

Member
Joined: Sep 14 2016
Posts: 406

Gilbertd wrote:

I've got a Garmin sat nav that comes with free lifetime map and speed camera updates and also has the capability of connecting a wireless reversing camera. You have to use the genuine Garmin camera kit which costs as much again as the sat nav but works perfectly. If powered from the reversing light feed, as soon as you select reverse the display shows what the camera can see.

Garmin have an online one day "30 th birthday" 30% off sale today, 18 th September 2019, ending just shy of midnight. The BTC30 back up camera kit is down from £135 to £94.50. So if anyone intends to get one might be an idea to go online and get it today.

Not much there, mostly smart watches and fitness stuff but there are couple of car sat navs and the motorcycle (Zumo) ones listed too. I've just got a Zumo for the bikes which comes with a car mount kit so might get a camera too and I use it in the car as my old one is running out of map space.

Clive