rangerovers.pub
The only place for a coil spring is up Zebedee's
Member
Joined: Oct 11 2020
Posts: 123

i have a button on dash for cruise control and set/resume on steering wheel but nothing under bonnet it seems is there anything i can check inside the cabin and is it possible to fit cruise control or was the steering wheel and dash buttons fitted to all cars, i think if i press button on dash its indicator light comes on

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 5213

You should have a couple of smallish boxes behind the dash on the RHS and a vacuum actuator behind the EAS box under the bonnet with a cable to the throttle linkage. Only cars fitted with cruise had the dashboard button and buttons on the steering wheel.

Member
Joined: Oct 11 2020
Posts: 123

would the boxes be behind the instrument binnacle (gotta remove it the speaker is tempramentle) and there is no vacuum actuator behind the eas box bud also there isnt a throttle linkage i can see the car is a 1996 2.5dse automatic with metal inlet manifold

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 5213

Ahh, diesel. You won't have the actuator, it's done by controlling the fuel injection pump, all electronic. No idea how it works or what goes wrong.

Member
Joined: Oct 11 2020
Posts: 123

im assuming it will be in BECM if switches were fitted i doubt it wouldnt be activated in BECM but im not sure if there is modules behind dash or anything else ? or anything connected to accelerator/brake or if it takes feed from BECM, not tested since replacement BECM fitted either

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 5213

BeCM has to know that it is fitted or it won't try to engage it, so if it has been changed and cruise isn't enabled, it won't work.

Member
Joined: Oct 11 2020
Posts: 123

Surely if switches were fitted originally and BECM was cloned, it should be enabled on replacement BECM

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 5213

Probably, but you'd need diagnostics to look at the settings to be sure. If the switches are fitted it would have had it originally so it either isn't enabled or it isn't working so you need to be able to work out which.

Member
Joined: Oct 11 2020
Posts: 123

Hey bud I was told there should be relay behind dash I a relay like eas 1 under passengers seat into a black plug with yellow insert directly under drivers side vent at the door I don't know if that's the relay but I went a run at 40mph and the motorway button on dash doesn't even light up so am I right in thinking if that is the relay then it could be blown or not enabled in BECM, also is that relay same as eas relay under passenger seat because I have a working 1 of them I could use for testing

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 5213

It isn't a relay, it's an Inverter/Controller. Beneath the air vent there's that and the ECU, both aren't interchangeable with anything else on the car.

Member
Joined: Oct 11 2020
Posts: 123

OK bud would it be worth trying I mean if its faulty will it stop system working and button on dash lighting or should button still light and it won't activate steering controls bud

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 5213

The on/off switch on the dash is connected directly to the BeCM so when the switch is on, a signal from the BeCM turns the light on. Presumably if cruise isn't enabled in the BeCM it won't light up. The ECU and Inverter/Controller are powered with the light on the switch so if it is on, they are powered. They are connected through the rotary coupler to the steering wheel buttons. I understand the ECU on an early car can die on you, so that might be the problem.

Member
Joined: Oct 11 2020
Posts: 123

The dash light doesn't go on so sounds like it's not enabled in becm

Member
avatar
Joined: Dec 30 2015
Posts: 5213

There isn't a dash light, I mean the light in the switch, the indicator light, which you said does come on.

Member
Joined: Oct 11 2020
Posts: 123

The indicator light in button doesn't come on now I'm trying to remember if it ever did, I think it did but not 100% sure

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 817

You really need to check its enabled in the BECM before trying anything else, given you have swapped BECM about previously its possible its not set to enabled. Do you have access to diagnositcs? (Nanocom or similar?)

Member
Joined: Oct 11 2020
Posts: 123

Autologic at local garage no nanocom etc bud

Member
Joined: Jan 16 2017
Posts: 817

If your memory of the light coming on before is correct, I'd suspect its only likely to be disabled in the BECM. Is it worth asking the guy who fixed your BECM how he set it up? Don't know the autologic diagnostics, but I'd doubt they are capable of doing anything that would involve changing settings, Probabbly fine for reading/clearing fault codes and displaying sensor information, but not able to change settings etc.

Member
Joined: Oct 11 2020
Posts: 123

There is a little update I have heater rear and front screen working but bottons don't light up so I wondered if bulb was blown so I pressed dash button and set on steering wheel above 31 and it worked I also set it at 60 then slowed down and res worked aswell and when dash button off it doesn't work so appears it's a blown bulb lol

Member
Joined: Oct 11 2020
Posts: 123

Is it possible to change heated windscreen, heated rear window and cruise control bulbs? If so what is involved???