rangerovers.pub
The only place for a coil spring is up Zebedee's arse

Hello folks,

Been a Land Rover fan since childhood and once owned a 1965 88" many moons ago. I have hankered after another Land Rover product ever since and always had a soft spot for the Range Rover Classic. However, being a realist I knew that the P38 would be the more practical to live with and recently I finally managed to take the plunge.

I'm not very good at keeping threads updated on forums so I'm going to be cheeky and post a link to my project thread on Retro Rides.

P38 - Leap of faith

There are quite a few people on there who are curious about P38 ownership but are weary due to the scare stories. I'm hoping my thread might change that a bit. It would be pointless doing such on here as I would be preaching to the converted.

It might also get the odd bit of exposure in Practical Performance Car magazine as I have a monthly column with them, though the editor isn't a fan...

I will no doubt pester you all for help and guidance, I've already learnt a huge amount from many of you.

Cheers,

Smiler.

Glad you finally made it here and you'll find you get advice based on practical experience rather than out of RAVE and making it up as you go along. Regarding the scare stories, the P38 is no worse than any other car designed in the mid 90's and incorporating first generation electronics. Yes, they have their quirks but so does everything else. In the main the engines are reliable (and you've got one built by BMW and fitted in any number of saloon cars), the gearboxes go on forever and the rest of the transmission is nigh on bulletproof. You'll see adverts for cars that have been converted to coil springs with comments like, "converted to coils so no more troublesome air suspension" but the EAS only gives problems when it's neglected just like anything else will. Look after a P38 and you'll see why it was a £60k car when new.